11 April 2022

On Wednesday 13 April, the Markt in Lennik will once again be the setting for the start of De Brabantse Pijl for women. World champion Balsamo will be present in Lennik. To win, she will have to get past Vollering, who finished a close second last year, and Liane Lippert among others. Who will take the victory and succeed Ruth Winder in Overijse?

Last year, Trek-Segafredo's Ruth Winder won on the Brusselsesteenweg in Overijse after a very close finish. Again this year, the American formation comes to the start with a strong six. World champion Elisa Balsamo, winner of Gent-Wevelgem and third last year in De Brabantse Pijl, may wear the number 1 jersey. She will be assisted, among others, by Thomas, fourth last year, and Van Anrooij.

Trek-Segafredo will certainly not be having it easy because the other teams will also be turning up at the start with top riders. Team SD Worx is counting on Demi Vollering, last year's runner-up and second in this year's Amstel Gold Race, and Moolman-Pasio, 3rd in the Strade Bianche. Marlen Reusser, 5th in Flanders’ Finest, and the Hungarian Vas, who won the Druivencross last winter, are also on the provisional start list.

With Liane Lippert, 3rd in yesterday's Amstel Gold Race, and Leah Kirchmann, Team DSM has two women on the start list who came second in De Brabantse Pijl in 2020 and 2018 respectively. Team Jumbo-Visma will appear at the start with Labecki. She stood on the third step of the podium for De Brabantse Pijl in 2019. Canyon//SRAM Racing is seeking success with the likes of Bossuyt, Barnes and Dygert. Valcar-Travel & Service pins its hopes on the winner of Dwars door Vlaanderen and runner-up for the Scheldeprijs Chiara Consonni.

UAE Team ADQ will be splitting their chances of winning. The Italian Bertizollo has fast legs and Spanish champion Garcia likes to attack along the way. For Team BikeExchange-Jayco, the Australian Amanda Spratt will be in contention on the steep climbs in and around Overijse, while Liv Racing Xstra throw the Canadian champion Jackson into the mix. Movistar Team Women will be heading to the Druivenstreek with a team that includes the Cuban Sierra Canadilla. Plantur-Pura will be at the start with Julie De Wilde, second in Dwars door Vlaanderen, and Julie Van de Velde.

This year, De Brabantse Pijl for women is a race over 141 km and features no fewer than 24 climbs. Who will succeed Ruth Winder this year after the race between Lennik and Overijse? We will know around 14:25.

Discover the participants over here

Related news