Van der Poel wins second classic victory in Overijse

17 April 2019

Mathieu van der Poel confirmed his top form in De Brabantse Pijl (Brabant Arrow). In Overijse, the Dutchman snatched the trophy from his fellow breakaways Julian Alaphilippe, Tim Wellens and Michael Matthews. Earlier this spring he had already won Dwars Door Vlaanderen (Across Flanders).

The first hours of racing were coloured by a leading group of seven, including five Belgians. De Bondt, Livyns, Planckaert, Backaert and Robeet were accompanied by the Italians Bongiorno and Peron. In the local legs of Overijse, the peloton did not let themselves get left behind, and overtook the seven leaders in several phases.

Shortly afterwards, Van der Poel showed his true cycling legs, but eventually held back for a bit. Daryl Impey, on the other hand, saw his chance; the South African champion cycled solo through the streets of Overijse. That is, until Alaphilippe unleashed his inner energy. The Frenchman was joined by three more favourites: Mathieu van der Poel, Michael Matthews and Tim Wellens, the 2018 winner. The Impey foursome did not catch up on any count, and were soon forced to separate.

The four front runners headed for the finish line together. Mathieu Van der Poel was feeling very good after 31 climbs. He picked up the sprint from the head of the group and was then able to hold on to the lead. Alaphilippe was second, and Tim Wellens sprinted to a third place finish.

  • Photonews © Photonews
  • Photonews © Photonews
  • Photonews © Photonews

Related news